Category Archives: Activities

What we are doing

Lyme Regis Heritage Trail September 2019

This year Heritage Open Days take place over a 10 day period (13th – 22nd September 2019) where many historical buildings are open to the public. The Lyme Regis Society is promoting Lyme Regis and its architecture during this period with a ‘Lyme Regis Heritage Trail’ of buildings and spaces for residents and visitors to explore and enjoy. The Heritage Trail promotes both the town and local businesses and offers a family orientated activity during the month of September.

Places included in this year’s Lyme Regis Heritage Trail:

Saturday 7th and Sunday 8th, 10am – 4pm
Belmont House, Pound Street.
John Fowles wrote the ‘French Lieutenant’s Woman’ here and this building is now cared for by the Landmark Trust and is available to hire.

Sunday 8th, Sunday 15th, Saturday 21st & Sunday 22nd, 10am – 5pm
Guildhall Hall, Church Street.
A barrel ceiling, wooden panelling and a host of history are included here with stunning views over the bay. The Town Council meets here and holds civic ceremonies such as Mayor Making. Also a wedding venue

Friday 13th & Saturday 14th, 10am – 4pm
The Church of England Cemetery Chapel, Charmouth Road.
Come and view the recently restored hand painted decorated walls and ceiling of this beautiful little chapel.

16th – 20th September, 11am – 5pm
Old Chapel – Alexandra Hotel, Pound Street.
Originally built as a private family chapel for the Dowager Countess Lady Poulett, who owned Poulett House, this now hosts weddings and events. Please come to the Alexandra reception first and a member of staff will escort you.

7th, 8th, 13th – 22nd September, 11am – 4pm
The Town Mill, Mill Lane off Coombe Street.
Built in the 1300s and open every day to demonstrate how a mill works and produce flour in front of your eyes, have a go at using a mill wheel yourself. See the huge wooden mill water wheel turn.

Saturday 7th, 10am -12pm & 2 – 4pm; 13th & 14th, 10am – 12pm; 18th & 19th, 2pm – 4pm
Bethany Chapel, Coombe Street.
Built in 1914 this simple chapel hosts an interesting history, a few surprises and a warm welcome.

Sunday 15th – Friday 20th, open all day, 2pm talks
St Michael the Archangel Church, Church Street.
This Grade I listed building has Saxon origins and now stands near the cliff edge. A fascinating interior with Jacobean carvings and intriguing inscriptions.

Open every day
The Sculpture Trail, Langmoor Gardens.
At each entrance there’s a map showing the modern sculptures installed in the gardens over the past 2 years, see if you can find them all.

Open every day 11.00am – 4.30pm
Town Mill Malthouse Gallery, Mill Lane off Coombe Street.
Free exhibitions in one of the restored Mill buildings. Artist Julie Oldfield’s ‘Luminous’ exhibition to 11th September along with Adrian Gray, the pioneer of stone balancing art.
From 12th September: ‘Change Matters’ 3 Artists: Pauline Lerry, Lesley Roberts and Siân Martin respond personally to a variety of environmental issues.

Launch of the Lyme Regis Society’s Historic Houses part 4 – 19th July 2018

On Thursday 19th July, The Fine Foundation Learning Centre, the Lyme Regis Museum’s prestigious educational space played host to the launch of the latest in a series of Historic Houses books detailing the history of some of Lyme’s most remarkable architecture.

David Tucker the Museum’s Director, welcomed the Mayoress Michaela Ellis and her consort Alan Ellis to the launch. Peter Coe, the Lyme Regis Society Chairman invited two of the authors, Keith Shaw and Audrey Standhaft, to speak about their inspiration for their articles.

Historic Houses part 4 features a range of articles on local buildings with fascinating illustrations of maps, diagrams and early photographs.  Many buildings and places have changed little over the years and can still be spotted as you walk around the town.

Historic Houses part 4, priced at £1.95, is available at many local shops, including:  Amid Idols and Giants, The Alexandra Hotel, The Black Dog, The Cobb newspaper shop, Felicity’s farm shop, Lyme Regis Museum, The Mariners Hotel, Serendip and the Tourist Information Centre.


Raising the Stars and Stripes on the 4th July

On the corner of Woodmead Road and Silver Street there’s a house that had a very special role in World War II.  In 1944 the house was home to ‘C’ company of the 16th Infantry Regiment, 1st United States Infantry Division.  ‘C’ company, commanded by Captain Victor H Briggs, was part of the assault force led by Lieutenant General Omar Bradley on Omaha beach on D-Day, 6th June 1944 in Normandy France.

A commemorative plaque to the right of the front door reminds us of our Allies’ contribution to the D-Day push. The Americans suffered 2,400 casualties at Omaha on 6th June, but by the end of the day they had landed 34,000 troops whilst under heavy fire.

The plaque includes a flag holder which is hung with a poppy wreath every 4th July and the United States flag is flown for the whole day.

So how does the flag get there? The Lyme Regis Society holds a U.S. flag and in the early morning of every 4thJuly ensures that Lyme Regis pays tribute to our American Allies.